2020 Sal’s NBL Finals structure: Nuggets and Jets in prime positions

IT is here, the 2020 Sal’s National Basketball League (NBL) Finals Series. After five weeks of action and each of the seven teams facing off in 14 regular season games, the final order of the post-season series has been decided. Otago Nuggets are the 2020 Sal’s NBL Showdown minor premiers and will face the Manawatu Jets in the double chance qualifying final on Tuesday night. At the other end of the scale, Nelson Giants and Canterbury Rams will have to string four wins together if they are to hold the trophy aloft on August 1, playing off in the first elimination final.


1st Otago Nuggets (9-5)
2nd Manawatu Jets (8-6)
3rd Auckland Huskies (8-6)
4th Taranaki Mountainairs (8-6)
5th Franklin Bulls (7-7)
6th Nelson Giants (5-9)
7th Canterbury Rams (4-10)


Tuesday, July 28:

Elimination Final 1: Nelson Giants vs. Canterbury Rams
Qualifying Final: Otago Nuggets vs. Manawatu Jets

Wednesday, July 29:

Elimination Final 2:Auckland Huskies vs. Winner of Giants/Rams
Elimination Final 3:
Taranaki Mountainairs vs. Franklin Bulls

Thursday, July 30:

Semi-Final 1: Winner of Nuggets/Jets vs. Lowest Ranked Winner of EF2/EF3
Semi-Final 2: Loser of Nuggets/Jets vs. Highest Ranked Winner of EF2/EF3

Saturday, August 1:

Grand Final: Winner of SF1 vs. Winner of SF2

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *